Baan Wasana Thai

I wasn’t originally planning on visiting here as I was in the mood for Mediterranean cuisine, but after walking in and glancing at the dishes being served, I decide to give it a try. Truth be told, I was quite hesitant on entering the restaurant because the outside looked rather unsightly. The interior however is surprisingly well-furnished and immaculate, exuding somewhat of a fine-dining atmosphere. The service here is prompt and accommodating as we received our dishes in under 15 minutes since we were in a rush. 20130418-191211.jpg

 

When the Vegetable Pad Thai arrived, I was overwhelmed by the heaping portion. This is a great dish to split with a friend and still leave extremely satisfied. The noodles were incredibly flavourful and well-seasoned, and the vegetables added a nice crunch with every bite. As my first time having pad thai, I was really impressed. I definitely would order this dish again.

 

20130418-191217.jpg

 

We decided to order a bowl of Green Curry on the side which we used to pour on top of the noodles. The consistency was pretty watery, but I really liked the taste it provided as the heat provided more depth in the noodles.

For dessert, we had the Mango Sticky Rice which was also something new I have never tried. Unfortunately, we dug right into it when the staff presented it to us so I don’t have a photograph. I did not expect the dessert to be served warm, as I thought it would be similar to mochi. The warm short-grain rice was marinated in a sweet coconut syrup and covered with slices of sweet mango. The syrup had just the right amount of sweetness as well as coconut flavour that did not overpower the mango. It was definitely something different from what I have normally but I don’t think I would order this again.

Baan Wasana Thai on Urbanspoon

 

2 comments

  1. what do you find so unsightly about the outside? I’m just curious. I work in Kerrisdale and walk by there almost daily, and it looks like a normal restaurant from the outside.. maybe I’m missing something?

    1. Hi Maria! Thank you for stopping by :) I guess it’s all perspective! For me, the exterior seemed sort of uninviting, a little less charming compared to most of the restaurants situated around it. I guess my word choice of “unsightly” was a little too strong for describing it!

Leave a Reply

